Blues Foundation Announces 2018 Keeping the Blues Alive Awards Recipients

No Comments Latest Blues News

Blues Foundation

(Memphis, TN) – In conjunction with the 2018 International Blues Challenge, the Blues Foundation will honor 12 individuals and organizations with its 2018 Keeping the Blues Alive Awards (KBA) during a recognition luncheon Friday, January 19, 2018 beginning at 11 am. As determined by a select panel of blues professionals, the KBA Awards are presented annually, honoring those who make significant contributions to the genre.

Blues Foundation President and CEO Barbara Newman reports that “each year, our KBA Selection Committee does a wonderful job of pinpointing those individuals and organizations that are working behind the scenes to celebrate, promote, and bring greater awareness to the blues. Our 2018 Keeping the Blues Alive award recipients are all wonderful examples of blues flame keepers, each working in their own sphere of influence to move the genre forward while honoring its past.”

Please join us in congratulating these 12 recipients!
Gary and Gillian Atkinson (United Kingdom)
Jonas Bernholm (Stockholm, Sweden)
Blues Society of Omaha (Omaha, Nebraska)
Bluesfest Byron Bay (Byron Bay, Australia)
Chesapeake Bay Blues Festival (Chesapeake Bay, Maryland)
Lucky Clark (Maine)
European Blues Union
Tim Fik (Gainesville, Florida)
Brian Kelm (Salt Lake City, Utah)
Poor House Bistro (san Jose, California)
Albertina Wassenhove (Mishawaka, Indiana)
Reuben Williams (LaRose, Louisiana)


To learn more about each recipient click here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *