Sugaray Rayford :: SOUTHSIDE

No Comments Latest Blues News Music

Sugaray RayfordDelta Groove Promotions and Nimoy Sue Records presents Southside, the brand new album by Mannish Boys’ singing sensation, Sugaray Rayford.

Southside consists of all original songs written by Rayford and his writing partner, Ralph Carter. The CD has a Memphis Stax feel to it and its original, soulful contents highlight Suga’s current perspective of the blues. Gino Matteo’s guitar is as eclectic as the guitarist himself. The band is tight and the grooves are intoxicating.

The CD features Sugaray on lead vocals, Matteo on guitar, Ralph Carter on bass, Lavel Jones on drums, Leo Dombecki on keys, Allan Walker on sax, Gary Bivona on trumpet and Jade Bennett, Zara Davis, and Rachele Quioque on backup vocals. Guest performances include John Thomas on keys, Bob Corritore on harp, George Pandis on Trumpet and Bill Bixler on baritone sax.

Southside is Sugaray Rayford’s third CD release. His 1st release, Blind Alley (2010), was independently released. His 2nd release, Dangerous (2013), was under Delta Groove Music Inc. Dangerous was #8 on Living Blues Top 50 Albums of 2013.

Sugaray was nominated for BB King Entertainer of the Year and Traditional Male Vocalist for the 2015 Blues Music Awards. He is also lead vocalist for The Mannish Boys who were also nominated for 3 awards.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *