2024 Blues Music Awards winners announced

No Comments Blues Awards Downloads Latest Blues News Music Videos

The Blues Foundation announced its winners for the 2024 Blues Music Awards Thursday night in Memphis, Tennessee. Christone “Kingfish” Ingram was the big winner of the night hauling in four awards including “Album of the Year” for Live in London

Other multiple award winners included Mike Zito, Bobby Rush, Ruthie Foster, and John Primer.

Congratulations to all the BMA winners and everyone for coming out and enjoying the 45th Blues Music Awards.

B.B. King Entertainer of the Year
Beth Hart
Bobby Rush (WINNER)
Lil’ Ed Williams
Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)
Vanessa Collier

Album of the Year
Live In London, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram (WINNER)
SoulFunkn’BLUES, Blackburn Brothers
Soul Side of Sipp, Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)
Get Your Back Into It!, Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling

Band of the Year

Larkin Poe,
Nick Moss Band (WINNER)
Selwyn Birchwood Band,
Southern Avenue,
Tedeschi Trucks Band

Song of the Year
“Bobby’s Blues” written by Brooke Blackburn
“Horns Below Her Halo” written by Selwyn Birchwood
“Midnight Heat” written by Tom Hambridge & Richard Fleming
“The Bait In the Snare” written by Nick Moss
“What Kind Of Fool” written by Ruthie Foster, Hadden Sayers & Scottie Miller (WINNER)
Best Emerging Artist Album

When the Levee Breaks: The Music of Memphis Minnie, Candice Ivory
The Right Man, D.K. Harrell (WINNER)
Up Next, Mathias Lattin
Everybody’s Buddy, Nic Clark
Motel Mississippi, Tony Holiday

Acoustic Blues Album

Wild Ox Moan, Catfish Keith
Raw Blues 1, Doug MacLeod (WINNER)
Sticks & Strings, EG Kight
Ridin’ the Blinds, Hudspeth & Taylor
Ghost Hymns, William Lee Ellis

Blues Rock Album

POWER, Anna Popovic;
Writing On The Wall, Coco Montoya;
Blues Deluxe Vol. 2, Joe Bonamassa;
Blood Brothers, Mike Zito/ Albert Castiglia (WINNER)
What Key Is Trouble In?, Nick Schnebelen

Contemporary Blues Album

Live In London, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram (WINNER);
Ridin’, Eric Bibb,
Behind The Veil, Jason Ricci and the Bad Kind,
Healing Time, Ruthie Foster,
Exorcist, Selwyn Birchwood

Soul Blues Album

Stuff I’ve Been Through, Alabama Mike
Soul; Funkin’ BLUES, Blackburn Brothers;
All My Love For You, Bobby Rush (WINNER);
Walking Heart Attack, Johnny Rawls; Soul Side of Sipp, Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)

Traditional Blues Album

Nothing But Time, Monster Mike Welch;
Get Your Back Into It!, Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling;
Savoy, Taj Mahal
; Oscar’s Motel, The Cash Box Kings

Acoustic Blues Artist

Catfish Keith,
Doug MacLeod, Eric Bibb,
Keb’ Mo’ (WINNER)
Kevin Burt

Blues Rock Artist

Anna Popovic,
Joe Bonamassa,
Kenny Wayne Shepherd,
Mike Zito (WINNER),
Warren Haynes

Contemporary Blues Female Artist

Carolyn Wonderland,
Danielle Nicole (WINNER),
Janiva Magness,
Teresa James,
Vanessa Collier

Contemporary Blues Male Artist

Chris Cain,
Christone “Kingfish” Ingram (WINNER),
Marquise Knox,
Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman).
Selwyn Birchwood

Soul Blues Female Artist

Annika Chambers (WINNER),
Kat Riggins,
Terrie Odabi, Thornetta Davis,
Trudy Lynn

Soul Blues Male Artist

Alabama Mike,
Billy Price,
John Nemeth (WINNER),
Johnny Rawls,
William Bell

Traditional Blues Female Artist (Koko Taylor Award)

Diunna Greenleaf,
Rhiannon Giddens,
Shaun Murphy,
Sue Foley (WINNER),
Teeny Tucker

Traditional Blues Male Artist

Billy Branch,
Cedric Burnside,
John Primer (WINNER, Jontavious Willis,
Nick Moss

Instrumentalist – Bass

Bob Stroger (WINNER),
Larry Fulcher,
Michael “Mudcat” Ward,
Rodrigo Mantovani,
Willie Weeks

Instrumentalist – Drums

Derrick D’Mar Martin,
June Core,
Kenny “Beedy Eyes” Smith (WINNER),
Tom Hambridge,
Tony Braunagel

Instrumentalist – Guitarist

Christoffer “Kid” Andersen,
Christone “Kingfish” Ingram (WINNER),
Derek Trucks,
Laura Chavez,
Sue Foley

Instrumentalist – Harmonica

Billy Branch,
Bob Corritore,
Dennis Gruenling,
Jason Ricci (WINNER),
Kim Wilson

Instrumentalist – Horn

Deanna Bogart,
Jimmy Carpenter,
Mark Kaz Kazanoff,
Trombone Shorty,
Vanessa Collier (WINNER)

Instrumentalist – Piano (Pinetop Perkins Award)

Ben Levin,
Dave Keyes,
Jim Pugh,
Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne (WINNER),
Mitch Woods

Instrumentalist – Vocals

Billy Price,
Diunna Greenleaf,
John Nemeth,
Ruthie Foster (WINNER),
Shemekia Copeland