Voting for Blues Blast Music Awards is Open Until Aug 15, 2016

No Comments Latest Blues News

(Pekin, IL) – In early May, a group of Blues music industry professionals including music critics, journalists, festival promoters, music venue managers, producers, musicians and other Blues music industry professionals nominated the best in Blues music in twelve categories. Voting to determine the winners is now open for this year’s Blues Blast Music Awards and continues until August 15th, 2016.

Voting is free and open to anyone who is a Blues Blast Magazine subscriber. If you are not currently a subscriber you may vote anyway and your vote will count as you are automatically signed up as a subscriber to our free magazine as part of the voting process. Blues Blast Magazine subscriptions are always free and you may unsubscribe at any time at the bottom of each issue.

Mark your calendars for the Blues Blast Music Awards ceremonies which will be held at the Fluid Events Center in Champaign Illinois, on Friday September 23rd, 2016. The awards ceremony will feature music by the artists nominated. You can find the latest information on the awards at the Blues Blast Music awards website. Tickets are on sale now. Artists confirmed so far that will be attending the awards are Henry Gray, Bob Margolin, Fiona Boyes, Dave Weld & The Imperial Flames and Bob Corritore, More artists will be updated as they are confirmed.

A complete list of the 2016 Blues Blast Music Award nominees follows:


Contemporary Blues Album

The Jimmys – Hot Dish

Eugene Hideaway Bridges – Hold On A Little Bit Longer

Victor Wainwright – Boom Town

Guy King – Truth

Toronzo Cannon – The Chicago Way

Shemekia Copeland – Outskirts Of Love


Traditional Blues Album

Golden State Lone Star Blues Revue

Bob Margolin – My Road

Chris James / Patrick Rynn – Trouble Don’t Last

Jimmy Burns – It Ain’t Right

Andy T-Nick Nixon Band – Numbers Man

Anthony Geraci & The Boston Blues All-Stars – Fifty Shades Of Blue


Soul Blues Album

Mr. Sipp – The Mississippi Blues Child

Benny Turner – When She’s Gone

Bey Paule Band – Not Goin’ Away

Curtis Salgado – The Beautiful Lowdown

Johnny Rawls – Tiger in a Cage

Billy Price / Otis Clay – This Time For Real


Rock Blues Album

Dave Weld & The Imperial Flames – Slip Into A Dream

Walter Trout – Battle Scars

Mike Wheeler – Turn it Up

Peter Karp – The Arson’s Match

Too Slim & The Taildraggers – Blood Moon

Tommy Castro & The Painkillers – Method To My Madness


Acoustic Blues Album

Andra Faye & Scott Ballantine – Coulda Woulda Shoulda

Matt Woods – Sawdust & Gasoline

Jimmy “Duck” Holmes – Live at Briggs Farm Blues Festival

Luther Dickinson- Blues & Ballads (A Folksingers Songbook) Volumes I & II

The Ragpicker String Band

Guy Davis – Kokomo Kidd


Live Blues Recording

Dave Muskett Acoustic Blues Band – Live From The Slippery Noodle

Jon Spear Band – Live Music is Better

Jimmy “Duck” Holmes – Live at Briggs Farm Blues Festival

Peter Karp – The Arson’s Match

Mitch Woods – Jammin on the High C’s

Reverend Raven & The Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys – LIVE At The Big Bull


Historical or Vintage Recording

Oslo Bluesklubb – 20 ar

EllerSoul Compilation – Blues For Big Walter

Magic Sam Blues Band – Black Magic Deluxe Edition

Henry Gray & Bob Corritore – Blues Won’t Let Me Take My Rest

Bobby Rush – Chicken Heads: A 50-Year History Of Bobby Rush


New Artist Debut Album

Amanda Fish – Down In The Dirt

Shoji Naito – New Cool Old School

Danielle Nicole – Wolf Den

Ebony Jo-Ann – Please Save Your Love for Me

Jonn Del Toro Richardson – Tengo Blues

Corey Dennison Band


Blues Band

Lil Ed & The Blues Imperials

Bey Paule Band

Nick Moss Band

Golden State Lone Star Blues Revue

Victor Wainwright & The Wildroots

Andy T-Nick Nixon Band


Male Blues Artist

Sugar Blue

Kid Andersen

Bob Margolin

Curtis Salgado

Toronzo Cannon

Bobby Rush


Female Blues Artist

Fiona Boyes

Shaun Murphy

Danielle Nicole

Janiva Magness

Karen Lovely

Shemekia Copeland


Sean Costello Rising Star Award

Big Harp George

Markey Blue

Amanda Fish

Andy Poxon

Guy King

Corey Dennison

The 2016 Blues Blast Music Awards are presented by Blues Blast Magazine and Fluid Events LLC. Blues Blast Magazine is the largest FREE Blues magazine with over 36,000 Blues fan subscribers located in all 50 states and in more than 90 countries.

You can listen to the nominees before you vote at the “Artist Listening Page.” If you are not familiar with any of the nominees in a category you can stream some of their music and be an informed voter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *