Bob Seeley :: LET’S BOOGIE!

No Comments Latest Blues News Music

bob seeleyLet’s Boogie is the sixth of a series of studio and live recordings from one of the world’s premier boogie piano players, Bob Seeley. Consisting mostly of standards, all songs here are arranged by Bob Seeley. An inductee to the Boogie Woogie Hall of Fame in Cincinnati, Ohio USA, Bob is a classically-trained pianist whose early discovery of boogie woogie is our blessing. Born and raised in Detroit, he learned boogie, stride, and ragtime from recordings and folios. Among his great influences is Pat Flowers (Fats Waller’s protégé) and the boogie pioneer Meade Lux Lewis – one of the three giants of boogie woogie (along with Albert Ammons and Pete Johnson).

Bob was a personal friend of Meade Lux Lewis, having met while Bob was playing one of Lewis’ tunes at a house party. He later was a accompanist of legendary Blues singer Sippie Wallace. As a solo performer, Bob toured throughout Europe, the USA, and Brazil. His playing received an extensive review in the book A Left Hand Like God, A History of Boogie Woogie, by Peter Silvester (Da Capo Press), and he’s received accolades from people who know:

“Just an incredible player, My God.” – Chuck Leavell, Rolling Stones pianist

“Seeley is a force of nature…the best boogie boogie player on the planet!”

Dick Hyman, Woody Allen Films pianist

“King of Boogie Woogie” – Ahmet Ertegun, founder of Atlantic Records

Catalog #:   BSM-CD106

Title:                 Let’s Boogie!

Artist:              Bob Seeley

UPC:                603408110625

Duration:          70:54

01        Sing Sing Sing (Prima)                                     5:11

02        Black And Blue (Waller)                                              4:01

03        Boogie Woogie Jump (Johnson, Ammons)     2:52

04        Caravan (Ellington)                                                      4:08

05        Charleston Rag (Blake)                                               5:08

06        Deadman Blues (Morton)                                            3:17

07        Dizzy Fingers (Confrey)                                             3:08

08        Remembering Erroll     (Seeley)                                 3:33

09        Roses of Picardy (Wood)                                           3:40

10        I’ve Found A New Baby (Williams)                  4:10

11        Memphis Boogie (Seeley)                                           3:10

12        Oh Lady Be Good (Gershwin)                                    3:28

13        Cotton Club Stomp (Ellington)                          3:14

14        Yesterdays (Kern)                                                      5:14

15        Steeple Chase (Johnson)                                           3:17

16        Swanee River Boogie (Foster)                                   3:42

17        Mama Don’t Allow Medley                                           9:09

Mama Don’t Allow (Davenport)

Maple Leaf Rag (Joplin)

Charleston (Johnson)

Honeysuckle Rose (Waller)

Take The A Train (Ellington)

I Got Rhythm (Gershwin)

God Bless America (Berlin)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *